New additions

Discussions on this fascinating and diverse group of fishes...

New additions

Postby Darryl1984 » Sat Feb 01, 2014 4:12 pm

Picked up 3 rather huge angels today. There 4 years old I think and the big boys looks like old men lol.

Just hoping they settle in. Pics will follow.

http://s916.photobucket.com/user/Darryl ... %20Uploads

Unfortunately the family I got them from were looking after them after a family member passed away and didn't know what to do so they offered them to me. The tank is far far to small but it's short term and the filter is more than powerful enough to filter the water uber quick lol. Hoping to aquire a 4 ft tank this month which will be there new home.
If anyone spots anything wrong with them from the pics please let me know as I'm new to Angel fish. Like I said the big ones are looking a bit old and decrepit.
Darryl1984

Re: New additions

Postby Carylnz » Sun Feb 02, 2014 2:03 am

They are actually looking very healthy to me (not that I am an expert on them either) and not too thin. Unless they start attacking one another they will be fine until you can get them into the bigger tank.
My home forum is The NZ Fishroom http://www.fnzas.org.nz
Carylnz

Postby Darryl1984 » Sun Feb 02, 2014 8:48 am

I'm glad they look healthy. The biggest one has a deformed top fin. It's bent and he's not the best of swimmers so I'm guessing it's something he's always had.
Darryl1984

Postby Darryl1984 » Sun Feb 02, 2014 8:50 am

As there in a small rank is it worth me running the airport. Does it do anything? The pumps an elite 802 and is rather noisy.
Darryl1984

Postby Carylnz » Sun Feb 02, 2014 9:41 am

Those fins are a result of poor breeding and very common these days it seems.
If I translate your post correctly, I think you mean that they're in a small tank and therefore should you run an airpump?
If they are not hovering, or gasping, at the surface then there will be no need to run extra air.
Carylnz