Fluval edge and red claw/fiddler crab help me!

A forum to discuss the more unusual aquarium fish - Arowanas, Eels, Knifefish, Polypterus, Puffers, Rays and more...

Fluval edge and red claw/fiddler crab help me!

Postby fishfood » Fri Dec 17, 2010 3:08 pm

Fluval Edge yay or nay? I've heard that you need to set them up quite differently to how they come, plus would it be ok with half water half land in the fluval edge?
What other tanks are good? I'd only be keeping a couple as the tank will be a smaller one.
What's the best heater for say a 25l tank, any brand names?

Just deciding whether to get fish and a frog or have a crab tank, can't decide which type of crab either, not even sure if the crabs would be a good idea for us starting out as I've only had cold water goldfish before.

Postby Daveysmum » Fri Dec 17, 2010 5:24 pm

Hi Fishfood,

welcome to the forum. Sorry I can't be much help on most of your queries, as I have no experience of the Fluval Edge or red-clawed crabs (though general opinion seems to be they're more trouble than they're worth, from previous threads).

However, in response to your heater question here www.aquaessentials.co.uk/hydor-mini-hea ... -2187.html is a link to a great heater for small tanks. I use this one to heat up my 40 litres changes water in a plastic dustbin and it is very effective.

Hope someone will be along soon to help you out further.

Postby Rockfish » Tue Jan 11, 2011 2:11 pm

A Fluval Edge wouldn't be a good choice for a half-water half-land type setup, because the tank needs to be almost full for the hang-on-back filter to work properly.

You could put a different filter in I suppose if you really like the tank design enough to pay for an extra filter in place of the one you're not going to use.

Remember there's lots of info at The Tropical Tank main site!
Site Admin

Postby alihar » Sun Apr 17, 2011 9:36 pm

Fluval edge is more designed for it's looks rather than practicality!