Fishless Cycle Help / Advice

New to fishkeeping? This is the place to find out whatever you need to know!

Fishless Cycle Help / Advice

Postby peter212693 » Sat Jul 07, 2012 9:11 pm

Hello all,

Im new to this having never kept fish before. I have a Fluval Roma 200 tank with a AquaManta EFX 400 canister filter. I have been cycling my tank now for 3-4 weeks and getting a bit stuck. Im using pure ammonia to do this and have no plants. Also have a Hydor external heater set to 31oC

I started by dosing up the ammonia to about 4ppm, after a while it dropped to around 1ppm and I got a huge 8+ppm nitrite spike. The ammonia stuck a 1ppm but the nitrite slowly lowered to 0. I left it for a while with 1ppm ammonia and 0 nitrite but not much changed. I then dosed the ammonia back up to around 3ppm. This has now dropped to around 2ppm in about 18 hours but I an now getting 0 nitrite. Nitrate is rising slowly I think its hard to read the result, its up to about 40ppm.

The thing concerning me is that the ammonia has not once gone below 1ppm :( Tap water is 0 on all levels so this isnt effecting it. Is it possible im only seeing the ammonia go straight to nitrate as the nitrite bacteria is converting it really fast having had the spike? My pH has been a steady 7.4 too.

This may be perfectly normal but I really want some fish now and may just be coming impatiet :). Any advise would be much appreciated.

Thanks!
12 Neon Tetras
8 Rummynose Tertas
1 Bristlenose Plec
5 Cherry Barbs (2 Males 3 Females)
6 Five Banded Barbs
6 Zebra Danios
5 Harlequin Rasboras
6 Zebra Loaches
peter212693

Re: Fishless Cycle Help / Advice

Postby ItWentWhereverIdidGo » Sun Jul 08, 2012 8:35 am

I'd do a massive water change and then test your water after you've given the water chance to fully mix. Once your tank has cycled you'll sometimes get a bit of ammonia but no nitrite and sometimes you'll get a bit of nitrite without having registered any ammonia.
ItWentWhereverIdidGo