Please help me choose fish for my 20 gal tank

New to fishkeeping? This is the place to find out whatever you need to know!

Please help me choose fish for my 20 gal tank

Postby Moo2 » Tue Jul 31, 2012 5:59 am

Hello. I have never participated in a forum before, so I hope you will be kind! I bought a betta two months ago. Being a novice, I bought a 1 gal, then 2.5, now I have a 5 gal. He's happy and healthy, and, since I bought him, I've done quite a bit of research about bettas, and I take very good care of him. Because I've enjoyed my new pet so much, I bought a 20 gal tank. I live in a small but cozy apartment, so this is as big as I can house. Again, I've been researching. I haven't put in all the decorations, but I did go ahead and fill it with water, adding conditioner and a bit of water from my betta's tank. I don't want to chemically cycle it because it's too complicated for me. Instead, I'm going to let it "stew" for a week or so before I add fish. Here's what I'm thinking: 6 zebra danios, 2 cherry barbs, and 1 otto. Do I need to have 2 ottos? I chose these fish because they seem to have similar requirements in temperature and water type. I plan to add the danios first. How long should I wait before adding the barbs? How long before the otto? Am I overstocking? I've read that I should put plants around the back and sides and leave plenty of space for swimming. How about a few caves for the fish to retreat in? Please advise.
Oh yes, I have a good filter and heater. I believe I have a good set up. Thank you for whatever help you can give me.
Moo2

Re: Please help me choose fish for my 20 gal tank

Postby Carylnz » Tue Jul 31, 2012 6:14 am

Hi and welcome.
What are the actual dimensions of the tank? A lower, wide tank can stock more than a narrow but tall one.
"Stewing" the tank with nothing in it but water will do nothing except allow you to check the heater has settled at the right temperature.