New to fishkeeping

New to fishkeeping? This is the place to find out whatever you need to know!

New to fishkeeping

Postby Mitchbarnes7 » Sun Aug 19, 2012 10:55 pm

Hello all,
thank you for taking your time to read this.

I have recently renewed an ex-cold water tank from my grandparents into a tropical tank.
With abit of cleaning it was up and ready.
It is 64cm = Length, 30cm = Height & 18cm =Width.
It is a 35 litre tank so it is relatively small.

I put in all the water and left it to stand for a few hours with the heater & filter on, I also used a gravel-vac? to suck up any waste left over from the first clean.
The next day I went to the LFS and bought 4 Platies. 2 sunset and 2 yellow comet? 3 female and 1 male, hopefully in a few months breeding is on the cards.

I am fairly new to looking after tropical fish, so as well as spamming the LFS worker with questions; I also signed up to this as it seems to be beaming with knowledge!

I am aware of the Cycle that will take place in the upcoming weeks and due to that I feel slightly guilty that I am making the 4 Platies bear through all the changes in the water etc. However I was told they are very "hardy" and recommended them to start of with, I also suppose something has to create the waste to start the cycle!

I used a small bottle of Safestart? to boost the beginning of the cycle as I was told it was filled with good bacteria.

I have two photos, however they aren't currently attaching for some reason, maybe another time - sorry guys!

Thanks for your time,
Mitch
4 Yellow Comet Platies + 1 Lavender/Blue Betta.
Mitchbarnes7

Re: New to fishkeeping

Postby EllieWilkes7 » Sun Aug 19, 2012 11:01 pm

Hi,

I would firstly like to take the time to wish you good luck with your fish and potentially future fish however I would like to clarify the purpose of your post?

Mant thanks
EllieWilkes7

Postby Mitchbarnes7 » Sun Aug 19, 2012 11:06 pm

http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/444/fx1dy.jpg/