help needed for tank size and fish!!

New to fishkeeping? This is the place to find out whatever you need to know!

help needed for tank size and fish!!

Postby HBpencil99 » Thu Aug 30, 2012 12:21 am

I am hoping to get a tropical tank for my room but, as I am a complete beginner, I am not sure what is best. I have read that bigger is better and easier to control for beginners but I have a limited budget and space on my desk. I think I could stretch to a 60l tank at the most but 45l would be better.
Also I have read a lot about different calculations for the numbers of fish that can fit in a tank and they come up with very different numbers, which has left me very confused.
The types of fish I was thinking of are:
a siamese fighting fish
Guppies
Danios
Mollies
Tetras

Any advice on tank size, fish numbers and types of fish would be really helpful, thanks
:D :D
54l planted tank
- 6 Silvertip Tetra (2 males + 4 females)
HBpencil99

Re: help needed for tank size and fish!!

Postby Carylnz » Thu Aug 30, 2012 1:36 am

You could start with a 45L (I did - many many years ago assuming you are referring to a 2ft x 1 x 1). Try not to mix long finned fish with short finned until you have some experience with which tend to nip and which don't. Tetras would tend to be too active for a tank of that size and probably upset a fighter. They need length to zip about.
Remember that guppies are livebearers and can produce fry every 4 - 6 weeks and usually nobody else wants them as they all have their own! The simple answer is to keep males only. They are more colourful anyway.
Most mollies would also be better in something a bit bigger.
The reason the answer about stocking varies so much is because there are many factors that effect stocking levels... size of tank, type and strength of filtration, cold or tropical, fish species, fish size, maintenance and feeding routines for a start.