I want an unplanted aquarium, Help?

New to fishkeeping? This is the place to find out whatever you need to know!

I want an unplanted aquarium, Help?

Postby IndianoAnnie » Thu Sep 06, 2012 2:43 pm

HI,
Im new to keeping tropical fish and would much rather keep a non-planted tank as I think that learning about keeping fish and maintaining fish all at once will be too much for me and things will go wrong.
In the future I might consider live plants.
My tank is the Aquaone Aquanano 40 and its a 55l tank.
Can anyone give any advice that would help me?
Thanks,
Annie :)

55L planted
Red cherry shrimp
Cycled
Newbie-ish :)
IndianoAnnie

Re: I want an unplanted aquarium, Help?

Postby wilfy » Thu Sep 06, 2012 2:51 pm

try artificial plants ,it makes for easy maintance,there is a large number of them on the market that imitate real plants .
wilfy

Postby IndianoAnnie » Thu Sep 06, 2012 2:57 pm

will they work just as well with the fish I choose, I have been looking at them I just didnt know if they would still be okay?
Thanks,

55L planted
Red cherry shrimp
Cycled
IndianoAnnie

Postby wilfy » Thu Sep 06, 2012 6:15 pm

i have a 350l tank ,comunity,all my plants are artificial ,once they have been in the tank a while they look even more realistic ,if i ever figour out how to get my pics on the forum i will post them .lol,wash under warm water ,i use a stiff paint brush to clean mine works a treet,,i dont use the bright coulered ones ,but thats just my prefrence,,a good idear is to wash them in the water taken out during water change ,cuts down on contamination .do a couple every time you do a water change ,that way you cut down on tank disterbance,hope this helps. :idea:
wilfy

Postby IndianoAnnie » Thu Sep 06, 2012 6:30 pm

okay thanks alot :) good luck with the pictures
Thanks,

55L planted
Red cherry shrimp
Cycled
IndianoAnnie

Postby Carylnz » Thu Sep 06, 2012 10:14 pm