Newbie here

New to fishkeeping? This is the place to find out whatever you need to know!

Newbie here

Postby Dan_mansfield » Sun Aug 18, 2013 9:01 am

Hello everybody how are we.

I will soon be purchasing my very first tropical tank wich will most likely be a juwel reckford 800

1st question is what you get in the tank kit a sufficient setup ie is the pump ok heater ect.

2nd ive read i should cycle the tank with no fish but also read to cycle with fish

3rd i am interested in keeping some
Glass catfish
Arulius barb (if thats correct)

Can you advise if firstly these would get along and secondly other fish that would go well with them

Thanks in advance
Dan_mansfield

Re: Newbie here

Postby Carylnz » Mon Aug 19, 2013 1:36 am

From your questions, it is obvious you are new to fishkeeping. The 2 fish you have admired are not suitable for a new tank set-up, or possibly a beginner fish keeper. Both need high water quality, something you cannot always provide in a new tank be it cycled with or without fish.

I have no experience with the Juwel aquariums so cannot advise whether all the equipment is suitable or not. I think many increase the filtration of some makes.

Whether you cycle with or without fish is a personal choice. Choose whichever suits you best but do not cycle with glass cats or arulius barbs!

Arulius barbs need a bigger base size that the 800 offers. They need a minimum of 120cm x 45 and the 800 is only 80 x 35.

Both the barbs and the catfish are shoaling fish and need to be in groups of 6 or more, the glass cats especially.
The barbs require a flowing stream with high oxygen content with 30 - 50% water changes weekly. The glass cats need low light.

I suggest you start with some less demanding species and then once you have it worked out, try for the more difficult ones.
My home forum is The NZ Fishroom http://www.fnzas.org.nz
Carylnz

Postby Dan_mansfield » Mon Aug 19, 2013 8:59 am