Water changes infomation

New to fishkeeping? This is the place to find out whatever you need to know!

Water changes infomation

Postby SR07 » Sun Mar 29, 2015 8:48 pm

I am thinking of getting a hose pipe to fill my tank up can you just use any hose pipe? Also if I bought a small aquaruim pump (submersible) with some tubing prob need about 20 foot, could I drain the tank this way I live in a flat so would be easy to get rid of water outside
SR07
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Mar 29, 2015 7:45 pm

Re: Water changes infomation

Postby Rockfish » Mon Mar 30, 2015 7:52 pm

Hi, welcome to the forum!

There's no reason why you can't use ordinary hosepipe (as long as it's never been used with any nasty chemicals of course) - it's much easier to do water changes by draining/filling via a hose than carrying buckets around.

You may be able to just drain via gravity depending on the position of your tank and nearest drain, and use the pump to pump the new water back in (if using a storage container).
Sean


Remember there's lots of info at The Tropical Tank main site!
Rockfish
Site Admin
 
Posts: 869
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2007 3:28 pm
Location: UK

Re: Water changes infomation

Postby SR07 » Tue Mar 31, 2015 12:31 am

Thanks good to new
SR07
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Mar 29, 2015 7:45 pm

Re: Water changes infomation

Postby Carylnz » Tue Mar 31, 2015 5:44 am

I used to do water changes on my cichlid tank using the garden hose hauled through the window (we do not have any additives in our water).
My home forum is The NZ Fishroom http://www.fnzas.org.nz
User avatar
Carylnz
Moderator
 
Posts: 7478
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2007 7:37 pm
Location: Blenheim, NZ


Return to Beginners

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron