Bad First Fish Weekend- Advice required

Get help on those urgent fishkeeping problems!

Bad First Fish Weekend- Advice required

Postby frizzybonce » Mon Nov 12, 2012 1:06 pm

Hi

I am new to this. Having set up by 60l tank 4 weeks ago , the water chemistry was ok so on advice from fish shop added 6 neon tetras and 2 black mollies on Sat pm. Within 12 hrs the Mollies went bonkers and started bullying the tetras. We removed the mollies but by this morining all the neon tetras were dead. The fish shop have replaced them and taken back the mollies and said this was unusual. I am now worried the tank is not right so retested the water, nitrites is 0 but the amonnia level is 2mg.l . Is this ok? I do want to add something else at some point but happy to leave for a while. :( Any advice?
frizzybonce

Re: Bad First Fish Weekend- Advice required

Postby SparkyST » Mon Nov 12, 2012 3:08 pm

Ammonia needs to be 0, 2mg is way too high and is probably what killed the tetras. Plenty of water changes will bring it down. I'm guessing your tank hasnt cycled due to you leaving the tank with no fish in it for 4 weeks. You can do a fishless cycle but you need to add ammonia so your filter can build up the bacteria that removes the toxins e.g. ammonia, nitrite.

Plenty of info on here on cycling your tank.
SparkyST

Postby frizzybonce » Mon Nov 12, 2012 4:10 pm

oh dear .poor fish . thank you
frizzybonce

Postby Carylnz » Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:55 pm

If that is the sort of advice the shop is giving you then I suggest you find another!
Mollies are too big for a 60L and 4 neon tetras would have been the most you should have added at a time.
Keep doing 30% water changes until the ammonia reads 0 before trying to add any more fish. When you do, do not add more than 4 neon sized fish at a time.
My home forum is The NZ Fishroom http://www.fnzas.org.nz
Carylnz

Postby ady » Mon Nov 19, 2012 2:14 pm

poor shop advice again....all to common a prob..... :angry: .....