HELP Im a newbie and i need some advice!

Discuss all aspects of freshwater tropical fish and aquariums.

HELP Im a newbie and i need some advice!

Postby Pammie » Fri Jul 13, 2012 8:01 pm

Hi All

I bought a small 20 litre cold water tank from a local pet shop, bad idea i know now. I added my water and ornaments and ran it for over a week. I was told I could add 9 fish in total adding just 3 each week, unfrotunately, I was never told about cycling at the pet shop!!
I first got 3 small White Cloud Minnows bout 8 days after setting up the tank. They told me I could add another 3 the following week.
Went back a week later and we picked out 3 neon tetras.
The next week we went back to get another 3 neon tetras and to my surprise I was told by another member of staff that since neon tetras are tropical, I should have had a heater and that I should leave the heater for a few days to settle before getting anymore fish.
I went home quickly and put the heater in the tank, panicking my wee tetras would be suffering.
The next day I found one wee tetra dead and I decided to take the other two back to the shop as my wee boy was so upset the others would die too.
I had started checking online and found that they should have tested my water before selling me fish never mind tell me about the nitrogen cycle.
I asked them to check the water and my ammonia levels turned dark green. I was advised to do a 20% water change and check it next week.
I was so worried i took another sample to another shop the next day and they said do a 30/40% water changes every day for a week. I had been doing that but the ammonia was still between 1.0 and 2.0
I was then advised to add Nutrifin cycle to kick start the cycle and do 50% water chnages every other day.